4th annual Society of Composers and Lyricists nominees announced
by Ana Walia | Thu, 22 Dec 2022 20:23:57 GMT
4th annual Society of Composers and Lyricists will be hosted by Darren Criss. Image Source: Society of Composers and Lyricists

The 4th annual Society of Composers and Lyricists conference will be held on February 15th, 2023, at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, and will be hosted by award-winning actor, singer, and songwriter Darren Criss.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) is the coordinating body for expert composers and songwriters in a motion pictures, tv, computer games, and performing arts. Members include the top creative professionals who work today and have a 77-year history in the art of creating music for visuals. The organization's goal is to inform the music for the visual media community and to address imaginative, technological, legitimate, and worthy of attention issues.

The recipients for composer and director of the SCL Spirit of Collaboration Award will be announced next month. The Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards ceremony will feature a presentation of that award and performance.

Here are the nominees for the 2023 Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards:

Outstanding Score for a Studio Film

Alexandre Desplat – Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio

Carter Burwell – The Banshees of Inisherin

Michael Abels – Nope

Michael Giacchino – The Batman

John Powell – Don’t Worry Darling

Source: SCL's Twitter 

Outstanding Score for an Independent Film

Leo Birenberg, Zach Robinson – Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Sharon Farber – Brainwashed: Sex-Camera-Power

Ryan Lott – Everything Everywhere All at Once

Rob Simonsen – The Whale

Mark Smythe – The Reef: Stalked

Outstanding Song for a Musical/Comedy

Alexandre Desplat, Roeban Katz, Guillermo Del Toro – “Ciao Papa” From Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio

Khiyon Hursey, Sukari Jones, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Mark Sonnenblick – “Good Afternoon” From Spirited

Danny Elfman – “Light the Match” From Central Park

Billy Eichner, Marc Shaiman – “Love Is Not Love” From Bros

Weird Al Yankovic- “Now You Know” From Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Outstanding Song for a Drama/Documentary:

Diane Warren – “Applause” From Tell It Like a Woman

Taylor Swift – “Carolina” From Where the Crawdads Sing

Lady Gaga, Bloodpop – “Hold My Hand” From Top Gun: Maverick

Tems, Rihanna, Ludwig Göransson, Ryan Coogler – “Lift Me Up” From Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “(You Made It Feel Like) Home” From Bones and All

Outstanding Score for Television

Nicholas Britell – Andor

Siddhartha Khosla – Only Murders in the Building

Bear Mccreary – The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power

Theodore Shapiro – Severance

Cristobal Tapia De Veer – The White Lotus

Source: SCL's Twitter 

Outstanding Score for Interactive Media

Nainita Desai – Immortality

Stephanie Economou – Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of Ragnarök

Bear Mccreary – God of War Ragnarök

Winifred Phillips – Jurassic World Primal Ops

Christopher Wiliis – Cat Burglar

David Raksin Award for Emerging Talent

Dara Taylor – The Invitation

Anna Drubich – Barbarian

Deandre James Allen-Toole – God’s Country

Esin Aydingoz – Simchas and Sorrows

Nami Melumad – Star Trek: Strange New Worlds

Congratulations to the nominees!