The Complete List of Oscar Nominations for 2022
by Jaskiran Kaur | Thu, 17 Feb 2022 18:30:46 GMT
Image Source: Jagran Josh

The Power of the Dog is the highest scoring Oscar nomination contender of the year, scoring 12 nods to its name. The Netflix production is closely followed by Dune, the latest novel adaptation in 2021 that bagged 10 nominations. Musicals adaptation of West Side Story also managed to make a mark on the Oscars nomination list. The latest version is created under the helm of Steven Spielberg. The semi-autobiographical work Belfast, which also doubles as a coming-of-age film by Kenneth Branagh received seven nods from the Academy. 

Apart from the previously mentioned films, “CODA,” “Don’t Look Up,” “Drive My Car,” “King Richard,” “Licorice Pizza,” and “Nightmare Alley” also feature prominent nods. 

Read the full list of the Oscar nominations below: 

Best Picture Nominations:

“Belfast:” Nominating producers Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik, and Tamar Thomas

“CODA,” Producers: Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi and Patrick Wachsberger.

“Don’t Look Up,” Producers: Adam McKay and Kevin Messick. 

“Drive My Car,” Producer: Teruhisa Yamamoto

“Dune,” Producers: Mary Parent, Denis Villeneuve, and Cale Boyter.

“King Richard,” Producers: Tim White, Trevor White, and Will Smith.

“Licorice Pizza,” Producers: Sara Murphy, Adam Somner and Paul Thomas Anderson.

“Nightmare Alley,” Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale, and Bradley Cooper.

“The Power of the Dog,” Producers: Jane Campion, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning, and Roger Frappier.

“West Side Story,” Producers: Steven Spielberg and Kristie Macosko Krieger.

Best Director Nominees

Kenneth Branagh for “Belfast”

Ryûsuke Hamaguchi for “Drive My Car”

Paul Thomas Anderson for “Licorice Pizza”

Jane Campion for “The Power of the Dog”

Steven Spielberg for “West Side Story”

Best Lead Actor

Javier Bardem: (“Being the Ricardos”)

Benedict Cumberbatch: (“The Power of the Dog”)

Andrew Garfield: (“Tick, Tick … Boom!”)

Will Smith: (“King Richard”)

Denzel Washington: (“The Tragedy of Macbeth”)

Best Lead Actress

Jessica Chastain: (“The Eyes of Tammy Faye”)

Olivia Colman: (“The Lost Daughter”)

Penélope Cruz: (“Parallel Mothers”)

Nicole Kidman: (“Being the Ricardos”)

Kristen Stewart: (“Spencer”)

Best Supporting Actor

Ciarán Hinds: (“Belfast”)

Troy Kotsur: (“CODA”)

Jesse Plemons: (“The Power of the Dog”)

J.K. Simmons: (“Being the Ricardos”)

Kodi Smit-McPhee: (“The Power of the Dog”)

Best Supporting Actress

Jessie Buckley: (“The Lost Daughter”)

Ariana DeBose: (“West Side Story”)

Judi Dench: (“Belfast”)

Kirsten Dunst: (“The Power of the Dog”)

Aunjanue Ellis: (“King Richard”)

Best Adapted Screenplay

“CODA,” featuring screenplay by Siân Heder

“Drive My Car,” featuring a screenplay by Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe

“Dune,” featuring screenplay by Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth

“The Lost Daughter,” featuring write-up Maggie Gyllenhaal

“The Power of the Dog,” featuring write-up by Jane Campion

Best Original Screenplay

“Belfast,” featuring write-up by Kenneth Branagh

“Don’t Look Up,” featuring screenplay by Adam McKay; story by Adam McKay and David Sirota

“King Richard,” by Zach Baylin

“Licorice Pizza,” by Paul Thomas Anderson

“The Worst Person in the World,” by Eskil Vogt, and Joachim Trier

Best Cinematography

“Dune,” cinematography by Greig Fraser

“Nightmare Alley,” cinematography by Dan Laustsen

“The Power of the Dog,” cinematography by Ari Wegner

“The Tragedy of Macbeth,” cinematography by Bruno Delbonnel

“West Side Story,” cinematography by Janusz Kaminski

Best Animated Feature Film

“Encanto,”: Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, and Clark Spencer

“Flee,”: Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

“Luca,”: Enrico Casarosa and Andrea Warren

“The Mitchells vs. the Machines,”: Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, and Kurt Albrecht

“Raya and the Last Dragon,”: Don Hall, Carlos López Estrada, Osnat Shurer and Peter Del Vecho

Best Animated Short Film

“Affairs of the Art,” by Joanna Quinn and Les Mills

“Bestia,” by Hugo Covarrubias and Tevo Díaz

“Boxballet,” by Anton Dyakov

“Robin Robin,” by Dan Ojari and Mikey Please

“The Windshield Wiper,” by Alberto Mielgo and Leo Sanchez

Best Costume Design

“Cruella,” by Jenny Beavan

“Cyrano,” by Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran

“Dune,” by Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan

“Nightmare Alley,” by Luis Sequeira

“West Side Story,” by Paul Tazewell

Best Original Score

“Don’t Look Up,” featuring Nicholas Britell

“Dune,” featuring Hans Zimmer

“Encanto,” featuring Germaine Franco

“Parallel Mothers,” featuring Alberto Iglesias

“The Power of the Dog,” featuring Jonny Greenwood

Best Sound

“Belfast,” soundtrack by Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather, and Niv Adiri

“Dune,” soundtrack by Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, and Ron Bartlett

“No Time to Die,” soundtrack by Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey, and Mark Taylor

“The Power of the Dog,” soundtrack by Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie, and Tara Webb

“West Side Story,” soundtrack by Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson, and Shawn Murphy

Best Original Song

“Be Alive” from “King Richard,” by Dixson and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter

“Dos Oruguitas” from “Encanto,” by Lin-Manuel Mirandal.yn56

“Down To Joy” from “Belfast,” by Van Morrison

“No Time To Die” from “No Time to Die,” by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

“Somehow You Do” from “Four Good Days,” by Diane Warren

Best Documentary Feature

Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy, and Nathan Truesdell

“Attica,” Stanley Nelson and Traci A. Curry: “Ascension”

Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie: “Flee”

Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent and David Dinerstein: “Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh: “Writing With Fire”

Best Documentary Short Subject

Matt Ogens and Geoff McLean: “Audible”

Pedro Kos and Jon Shenk: “Lead Me Home”

Ben Proudfoot: “The Queen of Basketball”

Elizabeth Mirzaei and Gulistan Mirzaei: “Three Songs for Benazir”

Jay Rosenblatt: “When We Were Bullies”

Best Film Editing

“Don’t Look Up, edited by Hank Corwin

“Dune,” editing by Joe Walker

“King Richard”, editing by Pamela Martin

“The Power of the Dog,” edited by Peter Sciberras

“Tick, Tick…Boom!” editing by Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum

Best International Feature Film

“Drive My Car” from Japan

“Flee” from Denmark

“The Hand of God” from Italy

“Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom” from Bhutan

“The Worst Person in the World” from Norway

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

“Coming 2 America,” styled by Mike Marino, Stacey Morris, and Carla Farmer

“Cruella,” styled by Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne, and Julia Vernon

“Dune,” styled by Donald Mowat, Love Larson, and Eva von Bahr

“The Eyes of Tammy Faye,” styled by Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, and Justin Raleigh

House of Gucci grabbed a nomination for best makeup and styling; Credits: Forbes

“House of Gucci,” styled by Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras